Estrid

Estrid, the Masked

Nº 40 - MYTHIC - Commander 2018
More printings »
More about Johannes Voss »

+2: Untap each enchanted permanent you control.
−1: Create a white Aura enchantment token named Mask attached to another target permanent. The token has enchant permanent and umbra armor.
−7: Mill seven cards. Return all non-Aura enchantment cards from your graveyard to the battlefield, then do the same for Aura cards.
Estrid, the Masked can be your commander.

C18 · EN Johannes Voss
2018-08-09

standard
future
historic
timeless
gladiator
pioneer
explorer
modern
legacy pauper
vintage penny
commander oathbreaker
standardbrawl
brawl
alchemy
paupercommander
duel oldschool
premodern
predh
usdeurfoiltix
1.25
EDHREC
Rareza Tipo Color Cmc L/T
Legendary Planeswalker — Estrid 4
Foil Nonfoil Promo Fecha
2018-08-09
Booster Digital Oversized Reserved
Paper Mtgo Digital Astral Sega
Keywords
Mill
Set Name Set Code Set Type
Commander 2018 C18 COMMANDER
release: setsize: 307 totalsetsize: 308
onlyFoil: no onlyNonFoil: no
Nombre ID
BORDER COLOR BLACK
FRAME 2015
Date Source Comment
07-06-2024 wotc Umbra armor's effect is applied no matter why the enchanted creature would be destroyed: because it's been dealt lethal damage, or because it's being affected by an effect that says to "destroy" it (such as Breathe Your Last). In either case, all damage is removed from the creature and the Aura is destroyed instead.
07-06-2024 wotc Umbra armor's effect is not regeneration. Specifically, if umbra armor's effect is applied, the enchanted creature does not become tapped and is not removed from combat as a result. Effects that say the enchanted creature can't be regenerated won't prevent umbra armor's effect from being applied.
07-06-2024 wotc Umbra armor's effect is mandatory. If the enchanted creature would be destroyed, you must remove all damage from it (if it has any) and destroy the Aura that has umbra armor instead.
07-06-2024 wotc If a creature you control is enchanted with multiple Auras that have umbra armor, and the enchanted creature would be destroyed, one of those Auras is destroyed instead—but only one of them. You choose which one because you control the enchanted creature.
07-06-2024 wotc If a spell or ability would destroy both an Aura with umbra armor and the creature it's enchanting at the same time, umbra armor's effect will save the enchanted creature from being destroyed. Instead, the spell or ability will destroy the Aura in two different ways at the same time, but the result is the same as destroying it once.
07-06-2024 wotc Some printings of this card refer to the ability "totem armor". This ability's name has been replaced with "umbra armor". This change does not affect the gameplay function of this card.
07-06-2024 wotc Umbra armor has no effect if the enchanted creature is put into a graveyard for any other reason, such as if it's sacrificed, if the "legend rule" applies to it, or if its toughness is 0 or less.
07-06-2024 wotc If a creature enchanted with an Aura that has umbra armor has indestructible, lethal damage and effects that try to destroy it simply have no effect. Umbra armor won't do anything because it won't have to.
07-06-2024 wotc If a spell or ability says that it would "destroy" a creature enchanted with an Aura that has umbra armor, that spell or ability is what causes the Aura to be destroyed instead. Umbra armor doesn't destroy the Aura; rather, it changes the effects of the spell or ability. On the other hand, if a spell or ability deals lethal damage to a creature enchanted with an Aura that has umbra armor, the game rules regarding lethal damage cause the Aura to be destroyed, not that spell or ability.
07-06-2024 wotc If a creature enchanted with an Aura that has umbra armor would be destroyed by multiple state-based actions at the same time (most likely because a creature with deathtouch has dealt damage to that creature greater than or equal to its toughness), umbra armor's effect will replace all of them and save the creature.
13-07-2018 wotc You choose what each returning Aura will enchant just before that Aura enters the battlefield. The chosen recipient must be able to legally be enchanted by the Aura. This doesn't target the player or permanent it will enchant, so an opponent's permanent with hexproof may be chosen this way.
13-07-2018 wotc If an Aura card can't enchant anything, it remains in your graveyard.
13-07-2018 wotc An enchanted permanent is one with an Aura attached to it. Enchantment permanents you control that don't have Auras attached to them aren't enchanted.
13-07-2018 wotc If an Aura with umbra armor is itself enchanted by another Aura with umbra armor, destroying either the first Aura or the permanent it enchants will result in only the second Aura being destroyed instead.
13-07-2018 wotc Estrid's second ability can't target Estrid, but the Mask token may legally enchant Estrid if you find a way to move it onto her.
13-07-2018 wotc Estrid's second ability might target a permanent that can't have the Aura token attached to it. In this case, the token isn't created at all.
13-07-2018 wotc All of the non-Aura enchantments put onto the battlefield with Estrid's third ability enter at the same time. If any have triggered abilities that trigger on something else entering the battlefield, they'll see each other.
13-07-2018 wotc Aura cards returned with Estrid's third ability may enchant non-Aura enchantments put onto the battlefield with that ability.